The Franklin Furnace FUND FOR PERFORMANCE ART 2006

2005-06 marks the 20th anniversary of the Franklin Furnace Fund for Performance Art awards, given to emerging performance artists to allow them to do major work in New York. Events are presented in partnership with collegial venues, or, in the case of site-specific collaborative groups, in the city environment. This season, Franklin Furnace received 327 applications, more than ever before; and for the first time, awarded a grant to a deceased artist, Hannah Wilke, on whose behalf her partner, Donald Goddard, applied.

Franklin Furnace has no curator; each year a new panel of artists reviews all proposals. We believe that this peer panel system allows all kinds of artists from all over the world an equal shot at presenting their work. This year's esteemed selection panel of artists, Gary Corbin,Nicolás Dumit Estévez, G.H. Hovagimyan and Joshua Kinberg, met on July 6th, 7th and 8th, 2005. Franklin Furnace Fund for Performance Art 2006 grant recipients are:

Catherine Baÿ (Paris, France)
Paco Cao (Brooklyn, NY)
Die Audio Gruppe - Benoit Maubrey (Baitz, Germany)
Donald Goddard, on behalf of Hannah Wilke (NY, NY)
Yoko Inoue (Brooklyn, NY)
Simba Yangala (New York, NY)

These seven performance artists/collaborators will receive grants of $4000 each. The Franklin Furnace Fund for Performance art is supported by the Jerome Foundation in celebration of the Jerome Hill Centennial and in recognition of the valuable cultural contributions of artists to society, and by general operating support from the New York State Council on the Arts.

Panel bios