The Franklin Furnace FUND FOR PERFORMANCE ART 2003-04

This year Franklin Furnace received over 300 proposals from 25 countries. Six artists were selected for the Franklin Furnace Fund for Performance Art 2003-04.

Since 1985, Franklin Furnace has awarded grants to emerging artists, allowing them to produce major work in New York in the coming year. The Franklin Furnace Fund for Performance art is supported by Jerome Foundation and the New York State Council on the Arts.

This year's FUNDWINNERS are:

Vivian Babuts (Dewitt, New York)
Grupo 609 (Havana, Cuba)
Stefanie Trojan (Munchen, Germany)
Tobaron Waxman (Brooklyn, New York)
Lois Weaver (New York City), Leslie Hill (Middlesex, UK),
Helen Paris
(Middlesex, UK)
Adrianne Wortzel (New York City)

Franklin Furnace has no curator; each year a new panel of artists reviews all proposals. We believe that this peer panel system allows all kinds of artists from all over the world an equal shot at presenting their work. This year's esteemed selection panel of artists, Deborah Edmeades, Zhang Ga, Tiffany Ludwig, Ricardo Miranda Zuñiga, and William Pope.L, met on June 18th, 19th and 20th, 2003.

Panel bios