Franklin Furnace THE FUTURE OF

The Future of the Present has evolved from a bi-weekly netcasting series to a sophisticated examination of issues raised by use of the Internet as an artistic medium and public venue. Since becoming a "virtual institution" on its 20th anniversary, Franklin Furnace has developed partnerships designed to implement complex works of art and bring them to the widest possible audiences. In the past we have teamed with such collegial institutions as Pseudo Programs, Inc., The Eyebeam Atelier, the Kitchen, Location One, Downtown Community Television, Hunter College,, Postmasters Gallery and Parsons School of Design; as well as venues in Tokyo, Japan; Split, Croatia, and Managua, Nicaragua. In 2004, this program is made possible by the generous support of the J.P.Morgan Chase Foundation and Jerome Foundation.

This year's The Future of the Present artists are:

Yury Gitman (Brooklyn, NY) & Joshua Kinberg (New York, NY)
Jenny Polak (Brooklyn, NY)
Marie Sester (New York, NY)

This year Franklin Furnace received over 200 proposals from 25 countries. Franklin Furnace has no curator; each year a new panel of artists reviews all proposals. We believe that this peer panel system allows all kinds of artists from all over the world an equal shot at presenting their work. This year's esteemed selection panel of artists, Zhang-Ga, Julia Heyward, Yael Kanarek, James Scruggs, and Juana Valdes met on June 23rd, 24th, and 25th, 2004.

Panel bios