THE FUTURE OF THE PRESENT 2001 consists of ten live art presentations being created during residencies taking place from January to December, 2001. These works of art use the Internet as a venue in which performance and discussion

may take place, and through which avant-garde art is available to a world wide audience. Presentations are being created by artists who were selected by Franklin Furnace's peer panel in the Summer of 2001. Artists work with a team of students in Parsons' M.F.A. Digital Design and Technology classes. Students become familiar with the artist's past work and ideas, and counsel the artist as to the various ways video and audio streaming technology, 3-D animation, "chat," interactive technologies and other tools may be used to embody their ideas. Each artist is in residence for one month. THE FUTURE OF THE PRESENT 2001 is presented under the aegis of the NetArt Initiative.

The artists selected for this residency project are: Anney Bonney (in collaboration with Liz Phillips), Nao Bustamante, Anahi Caceres, Go_Home Project (Sandra Sterle and Danic Dakic), Dyke Action Machine (Sue Schaffner, Carrie Moyer), Adrienne Jenik & Lisa Brenneis, Richard Kostelanetz, Gabrielle Leidloff, Bruno Ricard, and Marcus Young. These artists were selected by our esteemed peer panel in the Spring 2000.

The NetArt Initiative is committed to creating and promoting a dynamic dialogue between the academic and artistic worlds to explore this emerging new medium in artmaking today, offering students as well as the interested public an open space for discussion and collaboration, and showcasing emerging talents from both the educational and public sector, thereby establishing excellence in academic research and experimentation.

THE FUTURE OF THE PRESENT 2001 is made possible by the faith and foresight of Jerome Foundation, The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts Inc., the Heathcote Art Foundation, the New York State Council on the Arts' Technology Initiative, the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency, and The Daniel Langlois Foundation for Art, Science, and Technology.